About Us

The Organization

The Ontario Book Publishers Organization (OBPO) is a trade association of 48 Ontario-based Canadian-owned book publishers.

The OBPO's main activities are:

  • representing the needs, interests, concerns and issues of Ontario book publishers to government and arts organizations;

  • facilitating information sharing and educational opportunities to our membership about the provincial, national and international book publishing industries;

  • facilitating group marketing projects (both domestic and international) at a reduced cost to our members.

Through these activities, the OBPO fulfills its objectives of:

  • encouraging in particular the writing, publishing, distribution and promotion of books written by Canadian authors;

  • co-operating with other associations and organizations to further the reading and study of all books;

  • working for the development and maintenance of strong and competitive publishing houses owned and controlled both in Ontario and in the rest of Canada;

  • representing the interests of Ontario-based publishers in relations with public and private institutions in Canada and abroad;

  • facilitating the exchange of information amongst its members;

  • furthering professional training for individuals engaged in all aspects of publishing activity;

  • promoting the highest standards of professional conduct in the book publishing industry;

  • co-operating with individuals, organizations and governments in pursuit of the objectives of the organization

The OBPO Executive for 2018-19 is:

President: David Caron, ECW Press

Treasurer: Karen Brochu, House of Anansi Press/Groundwood Books

Past President: Jeff Miller, Irwin Law

Member at large: Jay Millar, BookThug

Member at large: Alayna Munce, Brick Books

Member at large: Lisa Quinn, Wilfrid Laurier University Press

Holly Kent is the Executive Director of the Ontario Book Publishers Organization.

The OBPO administers the Janice E. Handford Award, given each year in recognition of an individual who has advanced the cause of small and literary Canadian publishing. Established in 1997, past winners include Alana Wilcox, Krystyna Ross, Carolyn Wood, Kirk Howard, Janet Hawkins, Jim Polk, Sheila Koffman, Jack David, Roy Macskimming, Angela Rebeiro, Judy Mappin, Simon Dardick, Tim Inkster, David Caron, Karl Siegler, and Stan Bevington.